Gluten Free Cooking & Corn Starch

Spread the love

I have two friends who are supposed to eat Gluten Free, so when I cook for them, I try (key word) to adhere to that, but it’s taken a bit of education on my part.  So I thought I’d pass on some knowledge that I’ve learned.

Cornstarch is made from corn kernels, which do not contain the gluten protein that causes problems in people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.
Therefore, pure cornstarch is gluten-free. But when you’re eating gluten-free because gluten — even a tiny bit of gluten — makes you sick, you need to consider whether the cornstarch you’re buying has been manufactured in a way that avoids potential sources of gluten cross-contamination.
Many of the brands on the market are made in shared facilities or on equipment shared with wheat products, and so they aren’t considered gluten-free. However, there are a few brands out there that are safe on the gluten-free diet.

Cornstarch Is Extremely Useful for Gluten-Free Cooking

Info found here

2 thoughts on “Gluten Free Cooking & Corn Starch

  1. I found your site being bookmarked in one of the social sites. I’m glad I visited it. Interesting articles you have here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *